Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Hide this page!

Using the internet safely and securely

Hiding the page you were on is a quick and easy way to prevent someone from seeing what you were viewing at that moment. However, it does not hide your full browsing history from others. If you are concerned over your privacy and would like to know more about how to keep your browsing history private, follow the link below to see our guide to safe and secure browsing.

Find out moreclose

Using the Internet safely and securely

If you’re worried about someone knowing you have visited this website or been in contact with The Hampton Trust, please read the following safety information.

Please note: the information provided here will not completely cover your tracks, although these measure will probably be fine for most people. If you want to be completely sure of not being tracked online, it may be safer for you to access the Internet at a local library, school, college or at a friend’s house.

Also, make sure that you don’t add the website address for The Hampton Trust to your bookmarks!

Private Browsing sessions

If you can’t access a different computer, then Private Browsing allows you to browse the Internet without saving information about which sites and pages you’ve visited. How to activate Private Browsing differs between Internet browsers and browser versions. The following link will take you to a page that explains how to activate Private Browsing for all of the current major desktop browsers (Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, Firefox, Safari, Opera) as well as providing instructions for older browsers and mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets.

Go to:
http://howto.wired.com/wiki/browse_privately

We would strongly recommend that you run the most up-to-date version of your chosen browser that you can in order to make best use of their latest Internet Security features.

What if I didn’t activate Private Browsing before I started browsing?

All Internet browsers will store information from your browsing session if you have not been browsing privately. This means that your recent browsing history, search history, cookies and any filled in form information will be stored on your computer. However, all browsers also offer the facility to clear or reset this data, albeit in slightly different ways. As a general rule, you should be able to find settings for clearing your browsing data under either ‘settings’ or ‘tools’. If in doubt, all of the major browsers have online help pages where you will find comprehensive instructions.

We would strongly recommend activating Private Browsing to avoid having to retrospectively clear your data.

E-mail security

An email you have previously sent will be stored in ‘Sent Items’. Go to ‘Sent Items’ and delete any emails you don’t want another person to see. If you started typing an email but didn’t finish it, it will probably be in your ‘Drafts’ folder. Go to the draft folder to delete it.

If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message – delete the email if you don’t want anyone to see your original message.

When you delete an item in any email program (Outlook Express, Outlook, Google Mail (Gmail), Thunderbird, etc.) it does not really delete the item – it moves the item to a folder called ‘Deleted Items’. You go to the Deleted Items folder and delete them from there in order to remove them completely from your system.

If there’s a risk that someone may know how to access your emails, it’s a good idea to set up a new email account that only you know the access details for. Use an online email provider such as Google Mail (Gmail), Hotmail or Yahoo for an account you can access from anywhere, and use a name that is not recognisable as you, for example bakedbeans@hotmail.co.uk. Keep this email account secret.

Social media

It is worth bearing in mind that when using social media sites, you are subject to that site’s terms of use and privacy policies. These vary from site to site but, as general rule, it is worth noting that your activity in social media sites is often visible to other friends, groups, circles, etc. with whom you may be in contact. For example, if you ‘Like’ the Hampton Trust page on Facebook, then it will appear on your timeline and others can see that you have viewed and ‘Liked’ our page. Likewise, referencing pages in tweets will also allow people to know what you have been looking at on the Internet. 

With this in mind, it may be worth reviewing the privacy settings on any social media accounts you may have. If you are in any doubt and are concerned over your Internet security and privacy, we would recommend that you refrain from linking to or referencing The Hampton Trust as we have no control over, and can take no responsibility for, the privacy policies of other third party providers.